The Bulletin

Who Virginia Dems and the GOP picked to lead them in the 2024 General Assembly

By: - November 15, 2023 2:09 pm

The 2020 Virginia General Assembly. (Sarah Vogelsong / Virginia Mercury)

Ahead of the 2024 General Assembly session, Virginia Democrats and Republicans are picking their leadership. After winning narrow majorities in both the House of Delegates and the Senate, Democrats are poised to assume majority roles in the chambers, while the GOP will take up minority positions. 

Here’s who the parties have picked: 

Virginia Senate

  • Majority Leader: Sen. Scott Surovell, D-Fairfax 
  • Democratic Caucus Chair: Sen. Mamie Locke, D-Hampton
  • Democratic whips: Sen. Barbara Favola, D-Arlington, and Sen. Lamont Bagby, D-Richmond
  • Minority Leader: Sen. Ryan McDougle, R-Hanover
  • Republican Caucus Chair: Sen. Mark Obenshain, R-Harrisonburg 
  • Republican whips: Sen. Bill Stanley, R-Franklin, and Sen. Bryce Reeves, R-

Virginia House of Delegates

  • House Speaker: Del. Don Scott, D-Portsmouth 
  • Majority Leader: Del. Charniele Herring, D-Alexandria 
  • Democratic Caucus Chair: Del. Kathy Tran, D-Fairfax 
  • Minority Leader: Del. Todd Gilbert, R-Shenandoah 
  • Republican Caucus Chair: Del. Amanda Batten, R-James City
  • Republican whip: Del. Michael Webert, R-Fauquier


Our stories may be republished online or in print under Creative Commons license CC BY-NC-ND 4.0. We ask that you edit only for style or to shorten, provide proper attribution and link to our web site. Please see our republishing guidelines for use of photos and graphics.

Sarah Vogelsong
Sarah Vogelsong

Sarah is Editor-in-Chief of the Mercury and previously its environment and energy reporter. She has worked for multiple Virginia and regional publications, including Chesapeake Bay Journal, The Progress-Index and The Caroline Progress. Her reporting has won awards from groups such as the Society of Environmental Journalists and Virginia Press Association, and she is an alumna of the Columbia Energy Journalism Initiative and Metcalf Institute Science Immersion Workshop for Journalists.